Na No Wri Mo Update #2

Today is the tenth day of November, which means it is one third of the way through National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). As of today, without having added today’s word count, (Which I’m procrastinating by writing this post) I have roughly 14,000 words.  By the end of today I will have at least 15,000 words.

If I can keep this rate up I’ll finish with 45,000 words or so. A good start, not quite as many words as I originally hoped, but it’s easier to add material than subtract it.

I still have no clue where the story is going. (That’s a lie. I wrote an outline that I’m generally sticking to) I don’t have a title or really know what the story is about. (This is true) But despite this I have been diligently adding new words, and forcing myself to not get bogged down with rewriting.

This process is so much different from the one I used for my last book, Boom Town. With that book I spent at least six months plodding through a 60,000 word rough draft, only to throw out 40,000 words rewrite it, show it and re-write it ad nauseum. With this process I’m finding myself chained to a word count, much higher than Hemingway’s, but also less constrained by trying to make story elements fit perfectly. The frenetic drive for a higher daily word count means I will inevitably be forced to re-write 2/3 of what I write, but that would probably be the case anyway. At least with NaNoWriMo I know by the end of the month I will have a complete story. After that I can spend the next five months trying to make it a good one and still not spend as much time as I spent on the last novel.

Leave a Reply

