Na No Wri Mo

It’s November, which means it’s National Novel Writing Month or (Na No Wri Mo). Na No Wri Mo is exactly what it seems, it’s an attempt by authors to write a book in a month.  If you want more details, http://nanowrimo.org.

Now, in the past I’ve avoided Na No Wri Mo, mainly because writing is rewriting, and trying to speed through a piece is a recipe for disaster.  This year is different because I find myself in-between pieces and want a way to kick start a new project.  So while I’m not going to be jumping on board completely I will be attempting to write a complete draft of a novel by November 30.

I began this in ernest on November 1st, with a project I had been brain storming, but had not yet begun to write. I figure that I need at least a minimum goal of 1,000 words a day, with a overall desired average of about 16,250 words a week or about 60-65,000 words total. Today I have 6,686 words, but I haven’t written anything today, so in four days I’ve almost hit half.

 

 

Leave a Reply

